Youth Employment Rules About Youth Employment The youth employment provisions of the Wage and Hour Act are designed to protect minors by restricting the types of jobs and the number of hours they may work. North Carolina law adopts the federal employment standards for youths between the ages of 14- and 17-years old, employed in non-farm jobs, as well as the exceptions to those limitations; however, the Wage and Hour Act establishes some additional, more stringent requirements that must be followed by all non-farm employers. Farm work is completely exempt from any of the provisions of the North Carolina Wage and Hour Act. Employment in hazardous or detrimental occupations are not permitted for youths under the age of 18. Complaints regarding youth employment may be made anonymously. However, due to the information that is required to be obtained prior to investigating a complaint, all complaints (including anonymous complaints) must be made by calling 1-800-NCLABOR (1-800-625-2267). Youth Employment Position on Driving on Private Property The N.C.Wage and Hour Act has a limited exemption for driving a motor vehicle on the public roads and highways for 16- and 17-year-old youths. Tanning Beds Youth Employment Enforcement Position NCDOL's Wage and Hour Bureau's enforcement position that tanning beds do not come under Hazardous Order (HO) #6 as long as the rays from tanning beds are non-ionizing radiation. Hazardous and Detrimental Occupations for Youths The Wage and Hour Act and the Fair Labor Standards Act have seventeen hazardous occupations in which no youth under the age of 18 may be employed. Work Hour Limitations for Youths Rules for work hours for youth employees 18 years old and younger. Apply for a Youth Employment Certificate Complete the application process for a work permit after receiving a firm job offer. Go to Application Wage and Hour Laws and Administrative Rules Wage and Hour Act The Wage and Hour Bureau enforces the Wage and Hour Act, which governs how employers make, keep, and preserve records of hours worked, wages paid and other conditions and practices of employment. Wage and Hour Administrative Rules The N.C. Department of Labor adopts administrative rules, which provide further information regarding enforcement of the act. The rules for the Wage and Hour Act can be found at the Office of Administrative Hearings website.