Agriculture Safety and Health Bureau
Division of Occupational Safety and Health

N.C. Department of Labor
4 W. Edenton St.
Raleigh, NC 27601-1092
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Learn them now, or it will cost you later ...

You can get a ticket if you drive without a license.
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N.C. Department of Labor

If the driver of your vehicle and the passengers do not wear their seatbelts, or if
your children are not seated and properly secured in child safety seats, a policeman
can give you a ticket.

If your car does not have an annual inspection sticker, if it has expired, or if your
car is not in good condition, you can get a ticket.You have to pay special attention
to all of the lights, to the brakes, to the windshield wipers and the level of oil.And
you should inspect the tires to make sure that they have enough air,and that they
are not worn out.

You can get a ticket if you do not stop when you see (in either direction) a
school bus that is stopped to pick up or drop off children.

If you do not let an emergency vehicle pass, a policeman can give you a ticket.
You should move toward the right lane of the street or road, and you should come
to a complete stop.

If you do not yield to pedestrians, you can get a ticket.

You can get a ticket if you try to give money to a policeman, or if you resist the
orders of a policeman.

It is illegal to have open containers of alcoholic beverages, in your vehicle.

If, after a chemical test of your breath, the results show a concentration of alcohol
of 0.08 percent or more.You can receive very severe punishments, which can
lead to revocation of your license, permanent confiscation of your car or
imprisonment. A concentration of 0.08 percent of alcohol can be reached after
drinking only two beers.

If you are an immigrant worker and if the police find you guilty of drunk driving,
in the future you may not be able to work in the United States.

Many accidents occur because drivers do not obey the traffic laws of North
Carolina. It is very important to know the laws of the state, and it is also important
to learn and obey the signs.

Instead of driving after drinking, call a taxi, or designate a friend who has not
been drinking to be the driver.

If you are going to take a walk during the night, do not wear black clothing.
If you are going to ride a bicycle at night, put reflectors on your bicycle.
Be careful around agricultural vehicles.They are very slow-moving vehicles.

] Please drive carefully. Driving is a big responsibility, because the lives of many
your life people are in the hands of the driver.
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Important Road Signs SV i@

Stop Yield Speed Do Not Left Turn
Limit 55 Enter Only
ONE
LEFT LANE NO
|| WAY [
TURN LEFT ) TURNS
Left Lane One Way No Turns One Way Railroad Signal Merging Road Slippery Side Road Cross Stop
Must Turn Left Crossing Ahead Traffic Narrows When Wet Road Ahead
NO YIELD ROAD
;gﬁSE'NG AHEAD CLOSED To obtain a Driver’s Manual, call the Division of Motor Vehicles at
(919) 715-7000.The manual explains how to obtain a license, and
—— it contains important information for North Carolina drivers.
No Passing Yield Road School Farm Slow-moving . .
Zone Ahead Closed Crossing Machinery Vehicle To obtain a brochure about workplace laws of North Carolina, call

1500 ft (the sign is attached the North Carolina Department of Labor at 1-800-LABOR-NC.

to the vehicle)
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