The SMV emblem is rec-

ommended by the ASAE

to mark farm equipment.

The SMV emblem is

visible from about

1,200 feet. In North

Carolina, the SMV

emblem does not satisfy the marking
requirements for farm equipment on public
roads. However, we recommend that you
use it along with other markings.

This emblem is important because the
speed difference between farm equipment
and other automobiles is a factor in crashes.

For example, a car traveling at 55 mph will
take 7 seconds to reach slow moving farm
equipment 400 feet ahead. Each second
counts in the reaction time. It is important
to make your machinery as visible as possible
to other drivers.

We recommend you install the SMV emblem:
= With one point facing up

= From 2 to 6 feet above the ground

= Consult the latest ASAE standard, S276.5
= Visible from 1,200 feet

North Carolina has specific legislation for
farm equipment over 18 feet wide. Farm
equipment over 18 feet should:

= Operate during daylight hours

= Display front and rear red flags that are
visible from at least 300 feet

= Have an escort when traveling more than 10
miles in destination on hilly or curvy roads

= Operate to the right of the center line in
the road

= Pull over in a practical location to allow
traffic to pass (N.C. General Statute 20-116)

=
ﬂﬁ

NCDOL

N.C. Department of Labor

Agricultural Safety and Health Bureau

1101 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1101

919-707-7820
1-800-625-2267 www.labor.nc.gov

This brochure was developed by the N.C. Department
of Labor, Agricultural Safety and Health Bureau.
Funds for this project were provided by the
Governor's Highway Safety Program.

QY Printed 07/04

)
’.’ 5,000 copies of this public document were
printed at a cost of $154.98 or .14¢ per copy.

Copyright © 2015 by N.C. Department of Labor

All photographs, graphics and illustrations are property of the N.C. Department of Labor

or are used by permission/license of their respective copyright holders.

CAUTION:

-—" - - -
Farmer at Work!

Practice safety when operating
farm machinery on public roads
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Take extra safety precautions when you
operate farm equipment on public roads

# Use the most skilled drivers when on
public roads

Under North Carolina law, a drivers
license is not necessary to operate farm
machinery. However, no person under 14
years of age shall operate any vehicle or
farm equipment on public roads (N.C.
General Statutes 20-8 and 20-10).
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We recommend that only licensed
drivers who are familiar with traffic
laws and regulations operate any
machinery on public roads.
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= Don’t carry extra riders

= Secure all materials being transported

Consistently use turn signals when traveling
on public roads

Do not wave drivers around. That motion is
similar to a left-hand turn signal and may
cause confusion for others on the road.
Signal approximately 100 feet before reaching
the intersection where you will turn.

Directional Hand Signals

Use these hand turn signals when driving,
to ensure safety on public roads.
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Left Turn Right Turn Stop

Equip all machinery with mirrors

In North Carolina, farming equipment
is not required to have mirrors (N.C.
General Statute 20-126). However, we
recommend that farm machinery have
extended mirrors to see around the sides
and when turning corners.

Check all equipment hefore transporting it
on public roads

Some areas to inspect are:
= Tires
Lights
Brakes
Hitch pins and safety chains
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Operator safety devices, such as the
roll bar and seat belts

When causing a delay in traffic, pull over
and allow traffic to pass

Pulling over is the safest and most efficient
way to have traffic pass.

Be aware of the terrain and traffic patterns
of your route and plan cautiously

In these situations be extra cautious:
= Blind spots

Hills

Sharp curves

Narrow bridges

High crops
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Heavy traffic times

In North Carolina 51 percent of all crashes
involving farm equipment result in an
injury or death

= Use adequate lighting

Under North Carolina law, farm tractors
are required to have:

One front white light

One rear red light

(Two rear red reflectors, each with a
diameter of at least four inches, can
replace the rear red light requirement
(N.C. General Statute 20-129).)
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The American Society of Agricultural
Engineers (ASAE) recommends:

In the front:

At least two white lights mounted at the
same level, as far apart as possible

At least two flashing amber lights that
may be used as turning indicators

In the rear:
At least two red lights
Two red reflectors

Two flashing amber lights mounted at
least 42 inches from the ground

ASAE also recommends running hazard
lights during the daytime as extra
precautions.
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