
Wage and Hour Act
Minimum Wage: $7.25 per hour (effective 7/24/09).
Employers in North Carolina are required to pay the higher of the  
minimum wage rate established by state or federal laws. The federal 
minimum wage increased to $7.25 per hour effective July 24, 2009; 
therefore, employers in North Carolina are required to pay their  
employees at least $7.25 per hour.

An employer may pay as little as $2.13 per hour to tipped employees so 
long as each employee receives enough in tips to make up the difference 
between the wages paid and the minimum wage. Employees must be  
allowed to keep all tips, except that pooling is permitted if no employee’s 
tips are reduced more than 15%. The employer must keep an accurate and 
complete record of tips as certified by each employee monthly or for each pay 
period. Without these records, the employer may not be allowed the tip credit.

Certain full-time students may be paid 90% of the minimum wage, rounded 
to the lowest nickel.

Overtime
Time and one-half must be paid to all employees after 40 hours of work in any one 
workweek with some exceptions. The state overtime provisions specifically do 
not apply to certain types of employees and do not apply to employees classified 
as exempt under the FLSA. Exemptions may be found in NCGS § 95-25.14.

Youth Employment
Rules for all youths under 18 years old are: Youth employment  
certificates are required. To obtain a YEC, please visit our website at  
www.labor.nc.gov.

Hazardous or Detrimental Occupations: State and federal labor laws 
protect youth workers by making it illegal for employers to hire them in 
dangerous jobs. For example, non-agricultural workers under 18 years of age 
may not operate a forklift; operate many types of power equipment such as 
meat slicers, circular saws, band saws, bakery machinery or woodworking 
machines; work as an electrician or electrician’s helper; or work from any 
height above 10 feet, including the use of ladders and scaffolds. Certain 
exemptions apply for Supervised Practice Youth Internships. For a complete 
list of prohibited jobs, please visit our website at www.labor.nc.gov.

Additional rules for 16- and 17-year-olds are: No work between 11 p.m. 
and 5 a.m. when there is school the next day. Exception: When the employer 
gets written permission from the youth’s parents and principal.

Additional rules for 14- and 15-year-olds are:

Where work can be performed: Retail businesses, food service  
establishments, service stations and offices of other businesses. Work is not 
permitted in manufacturing, mining or construction, or with power-driven 
machinery, or on the premises of a business holding an ABC permit for the 
on-premises sale or consumption of alcoholic beverages; except that youths 
at least 14 years of age can work on the outside grounds of the premises with 
written consent from a parent or guardian as long as the youth is not involved 
with the preparation, serving, dispensing or sale of alcoholic beverages.

Maximum hours per day: Three on school days; eight if a non-school day.

Maximum hours per week: 18 when school is in session; 40 when school is 
not in session.

Hours of the day: May work only between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. (9 p.m. from 
June 1 through Labor Day when school is not in session).

Breaks: 30-minute breaks are required after any period of five consecutive 
hours of work.

Additional rules for youths under 14 years old are: Work is generally 
not permitted except when working for the youth’s parents; in newspaper 
distribution to consumers; modeling; or acting in movie, television, radio or 
theater production.

These state youth employment provisions do not apply to farm, domestic or 
government work.

Wage Payment
Wages are due on the regular payday. If requested in writing, final paychecks 
must be sent by trackable mail. When the amount of wages is in dispute, the 
employer’s payment of the undisputed portion cannot restrict the right of 
the employee to continue a claim for the rest of the wages.

Employees must be notified in writing of paydays, pay rates, policies on 
vacation and sick leave, and of commission, bonus and other pay matters.  
Employers must notify employees in writing of any reduction in the rate of 
promised wages at least one pay period prior to such change.

Deductions from paychecks are limited to those required by law and 
those agreed to in writing on or before payday. If the written authorization 
that the employee signs does not specify a dollar amount, the employee 
must receive prior to payday (1) written notice of the actual amount to be 
deducted, (2) written notice of their right to withdraw the authorization, 
and (3) be given a reasonable opportunity to withdraw the authorization. 
The written authorization or written notice may be given in an electronic 
format, provided the requirements of the Uniform Electronic Transactions 
Act (Chapter 66, Article 40 of the N.C. General Statutes) are met.

The withholding or diversion of wages owed for the employer’s benefit 
may not be taken if they reduce wages below the minimum wage. No 
reductions may be made to overtime wages owed.

Deductions for cash or inventory shortages or for loss or damage to an 
employer’s property may not be taken unless the employee receives 
seven days’ advance notice. This seven-day rule does not apply to these 
deductions made at termination. An employer may not use fraud or duress 
to require employees to pay back protected amounts.

If the employer provides vacation pay plans to employees, the employer shall 
give vacation time off or payment in lieu of time off, as required by company 
policy or practice. Employees must be notified in writing of any company 
policy or practice that results in the loss or forfeiture of vacation time or pay. 
Employees not so notified are not subject to such loss or forfeiture.

The wage payment provisions apply to all private-sector employers doing 
business in North Carolina. The wage payment provisions do not apply to 
any federal, state or local agency or instrumentality of government.
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Acta de Pagos y Horarios 
Salario Mínimo: $7.25 (con efecto 7/24/09).
Los empleadores en Carolina del Norte están obligados a pagar el más alto de 
los salarios mínimos establecidos por las leyes estatales o federales. El salario 
mínimo federal se incremento a $7.25 por hora con fecha efecto de 24 de julio de 
2009; por lo tanto, los empleadores en Carolina del Norte están obligados a pagar 
a sus empleados por lo menos $7.25 por hora.
El empleador puede pagar el mínimo de $2.13 por hora a empleados que reciben 
propinas, siempre y cuando cada empleado reciba suficientes propinas para 
cubrir la diferencia entre el pago recibido y el pago mínimo. Se debe permitir 
que los empleados se queden con todas las propinas, excepto cuando sea 
permitido crear un fondo común y que las propinas de cada empleado no sean 
reducidas en más de un 15%. El empleador deberá mantener la cuenta de todas 
las propinas de una manera precisa y completa, tal y como lo certifique cada 
empleado de forma mensual o para cada período de pago. Sin estos registros, no 
se le permitirá al empleador tener derecho al crédito por las propinas.
Ciertos estudiantes de tiempo completo pueden recibir 90% del pago mínimo, 
redondeado al múltiplo inferior de cinco centavos.

Tiempo Extra
Tiempo y medio debe ser compensado a todos los trabajadores quienes realizan más de 
40 horas laborales semanalmente en su jornada de trabajo, con ciertas excepciones. Las 
provisiones estatales de horas extra no aplican a cierto tipo de trabajadores, ni tampoco 
aquellos trabajadores que están clasificados como “exentos” bajo las reglas de FLSA. 
Cuyas exenciones pueden ser localizadas bajo el estatuto legal NCGS § 95-25.14.

Empleo de Jóvenes Menores de Edad
Las reglas para todos los jóvenes menores de 18 años de edad son: 
Se requieren Certificados de Empleo a Menores (Youth Employment 
Certificates, YEC). Para obtener un certificado visite nuestro sitio de Internet:  
www.labor.nc.gov.
Ocupaciones peligrosas o perjudiciales: El estado y las leyes laborales 
federales protegen a los trabajadores menores de edad haciendo ilegal para los 
patronos que los contraten para desempeñar trabajos peligrosos. Por ejemplo, 
los trabajadores no agrícolas menores de 18 años de edad no podrán operar un 
montacargas; operar varios tipos de equipo motorizado tales como máquinas 
de cortar carne, sierras circulares, sierras de banda, maquinaria de panadería o 
máquinas de carpintería; trabajo de electricista o como ayudante de electricista; 
o trabajo a cualquier altura por encima de 10 pies, incluyendo el uso de 
escaleras y andamios. Ciertas exenciones aplican para las Pasantías Prácticas 
Supervisadas de Jóvenes Para una lista completa de trabajos prohibidos, por 
favor visite nuestro sitio web en www.labor.nc.gov.
Reglas adicionales para jóvenes de 16 y 17 años: No deben trabajar entre las 
11:00 p.m. y las 5:00 a.m. cuando tienen escuela al día siguiente. Excepción: 
cuando el empleador tiene permiso por escrito de los padres y del director de 
la escuela del menor.
Reglas adicionales para jóvenes de 14 y 15 años: 

Donde pueden trabajar: Comercios de venta al por menor, establecimientos 
que sirven comida, estaciones de servicio y oficinas de otros negocios. No 
se permite el trabajo en fábricas, minería o lugares de construcción, o con 
maquinaria motorizada, o en los lugares de negocios que tengan una licencia 
de ABC para la venta o consumo de bebidas alcohólicas; con la excepción 
de que los jóvenes de por lo menos 14 años de edad pueden trabajar en 

el exterior del edificio con el consentimiento escrito del padre, la madre 
o guardián, provisto que el joven no esté involucrado en preparar, servir, 
proveer, o vender bebidas alcohólicas.
Horas máximas por día: tres en días escolares, ocho en días sin escuela.
Horas máximas por semana: 18 durante el período escolar; 40 cuando las 
escuelas no están funcionando.
Horas del día: Pueden trabajar solamente entre las 7:00 a.m. y las 7:00 p.m. 
(hasta las 9:00 p.m. desde el 1 de junio hasta el Día del Trabajo fuera de los 
días escolares).
Descansos: Descansos de 30 minutos son requeridos al final de un período 
de cinco horas consecutivas de trabajo.

Reglas adicionales para jóvenes de menos de 14 años de edad: En general, 
no se les permite trabajar, excepto cuando trabajan para sus padres, en reparto 
de periódicos a domicilio, o como modelos o actores en cine, televisión, radio 
o producciones teatrales.
Estas reglas de empleo a menores no son válidas en trabajos de agricultura, 
domésticos o gubernamentales.

Pago de Salarios
Los salarios deben ser pagados en el día regular de pago. Si se solicita por 
escrito, el cheque de pago final debe ser enviado por correo rastreable. Cuando 
la cantidad del salario está en disputa, el pago por parte del empleador de la 
porción no disputada no debe interferir con el derecho del empleado a continuar 
su reclamo por el resto del salario.
Los empleados deben ser notificados de los días de pago, la cantidad del pago, 
reglas sobre vacaciones y ausencias por enfermedad, y acerca de comisiones, 
bonos, y otros asuntos relacionados con el pago. Los empleadores deben 
notificar a los empleados por escrito, sobre cualquier reducción en la cantidad 
prometida de los salarios por lo menos un periodo de pago antes de tal cambio.
Las deducciones en los salarios están limitadas a aquellas requeridas por la 
ley y a aquellas acordadas por escrito en el día de pago o anteriormente. Si la 
autorización que el empleado firma no especifica el monto a ser deducido, el 
empleado deberá recibir antes del día de pago (1) notificación por escrito de 
la cantidad que va a ser deducida, (2) notificación por escrito de su derecho 
a retirar la autorización, y (3) tener una oportunidad razonable de cancelar su 
autorización. La autorización por escrito o la notificación por escrito puede 
estar dada en forma electrónica mientras se cumplan los requerimientos del 
Acta de Uniformidad en las Transacciones Electrónicas (Capítulo 66, Artículo 
40 de los Estatutos Generales de Carolina del Norte).
La retención o desvío de salarios debidos al empleado para su beneficio no 
pueden hacerse si resultan en la reducción del salario por debajo del salario 
mínimo. Ninguna reducción puede ser hecha a salarios debidos por tiempo 
extra.
Deducciones por falta de dinero o bajo inventario de mercadería, o por daño a 
la propiedad del empleador, no pueden hacerse a menos que el empleado sea 
notificado con siete días anticipación. Esta regla de siete días no es aplicable 
a deducciones hechas por terminación del empleo. Un empleador no puede 
recurrir a fraude o presión para requerir a los empleados el pago de cantidades 
que están protegidas.
Si el empleador ofrece un plan de vacaciones a sus empleados, el  
empleador debe dar tiempo sin trabajar o pago en lugar del tiempo de 
vacaciones, de acuerdo a las reglas y prácticas de la compañía. Los empleados 
deberán ser notificados por escrito, sobre cualquier regla o práctica 
de la compañía que resulte en la pérdida o reducción del tiempo o pago
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