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Wage and Hour Act
Minimum Wage: $7.25 per hour (cffective 7/24/09).

Employers in North Carolina are required to pay the higher of the minimum
wage rate established by state or federal laws. The federal minimum wage
increased to $7.25 per hour effective July 24, 2009; therefore, employers in
North Carolina are required to pay their employees at least $7.25 per hour.

An employer may pay as little as $2.13 per hour to tipped employees so
long as each employee receives enough in tips to make up the difference
between the wages paid and the minimum wage. Employees must be
allowed to keep all tips, except that pooling is permitted if no employee's tips
are reduced more than 15%. The employer must keep an accurate and complete
record of tips as certified by each employee monthly or for each pay period.
Without these records, the employer may not be allowed the tip credit.

Certain full-time students may be paid 90% of the minimum wage, rounded to
the lowest nickel.

Overtime

Time and one-half must be paid to all employees after 40 hours of work in
any one workweek with some exceptions. The state overtime provisions
specifically do not apply to certain types of employees and do not apply to
employees classified as exempt under the FLSA. Exemptions may be found in
NCGS § 95-25.14.

Youth Employment

Rules for all youths under 18 years old: Youth employment certificates are
required. To obtain a YEC, please visit our website at www.labor.nc.gov.

Hazardous or Detrimental Occupations: State and federal labor laws protect
youth workers by making it illegal for employers to hire them in dangerous
jobs. For example, non-agricultural workers under 18 years of age may not
operate a forklift; operate many types of power equipment such as meat slicers,
circular saws, band saws, bakery machinery or woodworking machines; work
as an electrician or electrician’s helper; or work from any height above 10
feet, including the use of ladders and scaffolds. Certain exemptions apply for
Supervised Practice Youth Internships. For a complete list of prohibited jobs,
please visit our website at www.labor.nc.gov.

Additional rules for 16- and 17-year-olds: No work between 11 p.m. and
5 a.m. when there is school the next day. Exception: When the employer gets
written permission from the youth's parents and principal.

Additional rules for 14- and 15-year-olds: Where work can be performed:
Retail businesses, food service establishments, service stations and offices
of other businesses. Work is not permitted in manufacturing, mining or
construction, or with power-driven machinery. Youths 14 years of age cannot
work on the premises of a business holding an ABC permit for the on-premises
sale or consumption of alcoholic beverages, except that youths 14 years of age
can work on the outside grounds of the premises with written consent from a
parent or guardian if the youth is not involved with the preparation, serving,
dispensing or sale of alcoholic beverages. (NOTE: Unless action is taken by
the N.C. General Assembly, this rule will apply to youths under 16 years of age
effective Jan. 1, 2024.).

Maximum hours per day: Three on school days; eight if a non-school day.

Maximum hours per week: 18 when school is in session; 40 when school is
not in session.

Hours of the day: May work only between 7 a.m.and 7 p.m.(? p.m.from June
1 through Labor Day when school is not in session).

Breaks: 30-minute breaks are required after any period of five consecutive
hours of work.

Additional rules for youths under 14 years old: Work is generally not
permitted except when working for the youth's parents; in newspaper
distribution to consumers; modeling; or acting in movie, television, radio or
theater production.

These state youth employment provisions do not apply to farm, domestic or
government work.

Wage Payment

Wages are due on the regular payday. If requested in writing, final paychecks
must be sent by trackable mail. When the amount of wages is in dispute, the
employer's payment of the undisputed portion cannot restrict the right of the
employee to continue a claim for the rest of the wages.

Employees must be notified in writing of paydays, pay rates, policies on
vacation and sick leave, and of commission, bonus and other pay matters.
Employers must notify employees in writing of any reduction in the rate of
promised wages at least one pay period prior to such change.

Deductions from paychecks are limited to those required by law and those
agreed to in writing on or before payday. If the written authorization that the
employee signs does not specify a dollar amount, the employee must receive
priorto payday (1) written notice of the actual amount to be deducted, (2) written
notice of their right to withdraw the authorization, and (3) be given a reasonable
opportunity to withdraw the authorization. The written authorization or written
notice may be given in an electronic format, provided the requirements of the
Uniform Electronic Transactions Act (Chapter 66, Article 40 of the N.C. General
Statutes) are met.

The withholding or diversion of wages owed for the employer’s benefit may not
be taken if they reduce wages below the minimum wage. No reductions may be
made to overtime wages owed.

Deductions for cash or inventory shortages or for loss or damage to an
employer’s property may not be taken unless the employee receives seven days’
advance notice. This seven-day rule does not apply to these deductions made at
termination. An employer may not use fraud or duress to require employees to
pay back protected amounts.

If the employer provides vacation pay plans to employees, the employer shall
give vacation time off or payment in lieu of time off, as required by company
policy or practice. Employees must be notified in writing of any company policy
or practice that results in the loss or forfeiture of vacation time or pay. Employees
not so notified are not subject to such loss or forfeiture.

The wage payment provisions apply to all private-sector employers doing
business in North Carolina. The wage payment provisions do not apply to any
federal, state or local agency or instrumentality of government.

Complaints

The department’s Wage and Hour Bureau investigates complaints and
may collect back wages plus interest if they are due to the employee.
The state of North Carclina may bring civil or criminal actions against
the employer for violations of the law. The employee may also sue the
employer for back wages. The court may award attorney’s fees, costs, liquidated
damages and interest.

Anyone having a question about the Wage and Hour Act may call:
1-800-NC-LABOR (1-800-625-2267)

Employee Classification

Any worker who is defined as an employee by the N.C. Wage and Hour Act
[(N.C. Gen Stat. 95-25.2(4)], the N.C. Employee Fair Classification Act, the
Internal Revenue Code as adopted under N.C. Employment Security laws [(N.C.
Gen. Stat. 96-1(b)(10)], the N.C. Workers’ Compensation Act [(N.C. Gen. Stat. 97-
2(2)], or the N.C. Revenue Act [(N.C. Gen. Stat. 105-163.1(4)] shall be treated as
an employee.

Any employee who believes that he or she has been misclassified as an
independent contractor by his or her employer may report the suspected
misclassification to the N.C. Industrial Commission’s Employee Classification
Division by phone, email or fax. When filing a complaint, please provide the
physical location, mailing address, and if available, the telephone number and
email address for the employer suspected of employee misclassification:

Criminal Investigations and Employee Classification Division

N.C. Industrial Commission

1233 Mail Service Center

Raleigh, NC 27699-1233

Email: fraudcomplaints@ic.nc.gov

Phone: 1-888-891-4895 (in North Carolina)

Fax: 919-508-8300 (Criminal Investigations/Employee Classification Div.)

Employment-at-Will

North Carolina is an employment-at-will state. The term "employment-at-wil
simply means that unless there is a specific law to protect employees or an
employment contract providing otherwise, then an employer can treat its
employees as it sees fit and the employer can discharge an employee at the will
of the employer for any reason or no reason at all.

Right-to-Work Laws

North Carolina is a “right-to-work” state. Right-to-work applies to collective
bargaining or labor unions. The right of persons to work cannot be denied or
reduced in any way because they are either members of a labor union (including
labor organization or labor association) or chose not to be a member of any
such labor union. An employer cannot require any person, as a condition of
employment or continuation of employment, to pay any dues or other fees of
any kind to a labor union. Also, an employer cannot enter into an agreement
with a labor union whereby (1) non-union members are denied the right to
work for the employer, (2) membership is made a condition of employment or
continuation of employment, or (3) the labor union acquires an employment
monopoly in any enterprise.

|u

NCDOL has no enforcement authority regarding labor union laws. For employee
concerns regarding labor unions, contact the Regional Office of the National
Labor Relations Board. The NLRB is an independent federal agency that protects
the rights of private sector employees to join together, with or without a union, to
improve their wages and working conditions. Regional office contact:

Subregional Office 11 - Winston-Salem, NC
One West Fourth Street

Suite 710

Winston-Salem, NC 27101

Phone: 336-631-5201

Retaliatory Employment
Discrimination

The department's Retaliatory Employment Discrimination Bureau investigates
complaints filed by employees against their employers for alleged violations
of the N.C. Retaliatory Employment Discrimination Act (REDA). Under REDA,
an employer may not retaliate against an employee for engaging in REDA-
protected activities, such as filing a claim or initiating an inquiry, related to certain
rights under the following:

* Workers' Compensation Claims

* Wage and Hour Complaints

¢ Occupational Safety and Health Complaints

® Mine Safety and Health Complaints

* Genetic Testing Discrimination

e Sickle Cell or Hemoglobin C Carriers Discrimination

¢ N.C. National Guard Service Discrimination
Participation in the Juvenile Justice System
Exercising Rights Under Domestic Violence Laws
* Pesticide Regulation Complaints
® Drug Paraphernalia Complaints

Employees who believe they have been retaliated against in their employment
because of activities under the above statutes, or employers who have
questions about the application of REDA, may call:

1-800-NC-LABOR (1-800-625-2267)

A REDA complaint must be filed with the bureau within 180 days of the date
of retaliation.
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Acta de Pagos y Horarios
Salario Minimo: $7.25 (efectivo 7/24/09).

Los empleadores en Carolina del Norte estan obligados a pagar el mas alto de
los salarios minimos establecidos por las leyes estatales o federales. El salario
minimo federal se incrementd a $7.25 por hora con fecha efectiva de 24 de julio
del 2009; por lo tanto, los empleadores en Carolina del Norte estan obligados a
pagar a sus empleados por lo menos $7.25 por hora.

El empleador puede pagar el minimo de $2.13 por hora a empleados que
reciben propinas, siempre y cuando cada empleado reciba suficientes propinas
para cubrir la diterencia entre el pago recibido y el salario minimo. Se debe
permitir que los empleados se queden con todas las propinas, excepto cuando
sea permitido crear un fondo comun y que las propinas de cada empleado no
sean reducidas en mas de un 15%. El empleador deberd mantener la cuenta de
todas las propinas de unamanera precisay completa, tal y como lo certifique cada
empleado de forma mensual o para cada periodo de pago. Sin estos registros, no
se le permitird al empleador tener derecho al crédito por las propinas.

Ciertos estudiantes de tiempo completo pueden recibir 90% del pago minimo,
redondeado al multiplo inferior de cinco centavos.

Tiempo Extra

Tiempo y medio debe ser compensado a todos los trabajadores quienes realizan
mas de 40 horas laborales semanalmente en su jornada de trabajo, con ciertas
excepciones. Las provisiones estatales de horas extras no aplican a cierto tipo
de trabajadores, ni tampoco aquellos trabajadores que estan clasificados como
exentos bajo las reglas de FLSA. Cuyas exenciones pueden ser localizadas bajo

el estatuto legal NCGS § 95-25.14.

Empleo de Jovenes Menores de Edad

Las reglas para todos los jovenes menores de 18 ainos de edad son: Se
requieren Certificados de Empleo a Menores (Youth Employment Certificates, YEC).
Para obtener un certificado visite nuestro sitio de Internet: www.labor.nc.gov.

Ocupaciones peligrosas o perjudiciales: El estado y las leyes laborales
federales protegen a los trabajadores menores de edad haciendo ilegal para los
patronos que los contraten para desempenar trabajos peligrosos. Por ejemplo,
los trabajadores no agricolas menores de 18 afos de edad no podran operar un
montacargas; operar varios tipos de equipos motorizados tales como maquinas
de cortar carne, sierras circulares, sierras de banda, maquinaria de panaderia o
maquinas de carpinteria; trabajo de electricista o como ayudante de electricista;
o trabajo a cualquier altura por encima de 10 pies, incluyendo el uso de escaleras
y andamios. Ciertas exenciones aplican para las Pasantias Practicas Supervisadas
de Jovenes. Para una lista completa de trabajos prohibidos, por favor visite nuestro
sitio web en www.labor.nc.gov.

Reglas adicionales para jovenes de 16 y 17 anos: No deben trabajar entre
las 11:00 p.m. y las 5:00 a.m. cuando tienen escuela al dia siguiente. Excepcién:
Cuando el empleador tiene permiso por escrito de los padres y del director de
la escuela del menor.

Reglas adicionales para jovenes de 14 y 15 anos: ; Donde pueden trabajar?
Pueden trabajar en tiendas de comercio, establecimientos de servicios de
alimentos o restaurantes y la mayoria de los trabajos de oficinas. Empleo en
almacenes, factorias, minerias o en la fabricacion de bienes es prohibido para
jovenes de 14 y 15 anos de edad. Jovenes de 14 afos de edad no pueden
trabajar adentro de un establecimiento donde exista un permiso de vender,
serviry consumir alcohol (permiso ABC). Sin embargo, estos jovenes si pudieran

trabajar en las afueras del establecimiento con la autorizacion por escrito de un
padre o guardian legal siempre y cuando el joven no participe en preparar, dispensar,
servir y/o vender bebidas alcohdlicas. (NOTA: A menos que alguna accion sea tomada

por la Asamblea General de Carolina del Norte, esta regla aplicara a jévenes menores
de 16 anos de edad efectivo el 1 de Enero del 2024).

Horas maximas por dia: tres en dias escolares, ocho en dias sin escuela.

Horas méximas por semana: 18 durante el periodo escolar; 40 cuando las
escuelas no estan funcionando.

Horas del dia: Pueden trabajar solamente entre las 7:00 a.m. y las 7:00 p.m.
(hasta las 9:00 p.m. desde el 1 de junio hasta el Dia del Trabajo fuera de los
dias escolares).

Descansos: Descansos de 30 minutos son requeridos después de un periodo
de cinco horas consecutivas de trabajo.

Reglas adicionales para jovenes de menos de 14 anos de edad: En general,
no se les permite trabajar, excepto cuando trabajan para sus padres, en reparto
de periddicos a domicilio, o como modelos o actores en cine, television, radio o
producciones teatrales.

Estas reglas de empleo a menores no son validas en trabajos de agricultura,
domésticos o gubernamentales.

Pago de Salarios

Los salarios deben ser pagados en el dia regular de pago. Si se solicita por
escrito, el cheque de pago final debe ser enviado por correo rastreable. Cuando
la cantidad del salario estd en disputa, el pago por parte del empleador de
la porcién no disputada no debe interferir con el derecho del empleado a
continuar su reclamo por el resto del salario.

Los empleados deben ser notificados de los dias de pago, la cantidad del pago,
reglas sobre vacaciones y ausencias por enfermedad, y acerca de comisiones,
bonos, y otros asuntos relacionados con el pago. Los empleadores deben
notificar a los empleados por escrito, sobre cualquier reduccién en la cantidad
prometida de los salarios por lo menos un periodo de pago antes de tal cambio.

Las deducciones en los salarios estan limitadas a aquellas requeridas por la
ley y a aquellas acordadas por escrito en el dia de pago o anteriormente. Si la
autorizacion que el empleado firma no especifica el monto a ser deducido, el
empleado debera recibir antes del dia de pago (1) notificacién por escrito de
la cantidad que va a ser deducida, (2) notificacidon por escrito de su derecho
a retirar la autorizacién, y (3) tener una oportunidad razonable de cancelar su
autorizacion. La autorizacidn por escrito o la notificacion por escrito puede ser
dada en forma electrénica mientras se cumplan los requerimientos del Acta de
Uniformidad en las Transacciones Electrénicas (Capitulo 66, Articulo 40 de los
Estatutos Generales de Carolina del Norte).

La retencion o desvio de salarios adeudados al empleado para su beneficio
del empleador no pueden hacerse si resultan en la reduccion del salario por
debajo del salario minimo. Ninguna reduccién puede ser hecha a salarios
adeudados por tiempo extra.

Deducciones por falta de dinero o bajo inventario de mercaderia, o por dafno a
la propiedad del empleador, no pueden hacerse a menos que el empleado sea
notificado con siete dias de anticipacion. Esta regla de siete dias no es aplicable
a deducciones hechas por terminacién del empleo. Un empleador no puede
recurrir a fraude o presion para requerir a los empleados el pago de cantidades
que estan protegidas por ley.

Si el empleador ofrece un plan de vacaciones a sus empleados, el empleador
debe dar tiempo sin trabajar o pago en lugar del tiempo de vacaciones,de

VEIVEIL. HORAS Y SALARIOS: NOTICIA A LOS EMPLEADOS

LUKE FARLEY, COMMISSIONER

acuerdo a las reglas y practicas de la compania. Los empleados deberan ser
notificados por escrito, sobre cualquier regla o practica de la compania que
resulte en la pérdida o reduccion del tiempo o pago de vacaciones Los
empleados que no han sido notificados no estan sujetos a esa pérdida o
reduccion de vacaciones. Las estipulaciones sobre el pago de salarios son
aplicables a todos los empleadores del sector privado con actividad en
Carolina del Norte. Las estipulaciones sobre el pago de salarios no son
aplicables a ninguna agencia o instrumento de gobierno federal, estatal, o local.

Quejas

La Oficina de Horas y Salarios (Wage and Hour Bureau) del Departamento de
Trabajo de Carolina del Norte investiga quejas y cobra salarios atrasados mas los
intereses que se le deban al empleado. El Estado de Carolina del Norte puede
iniciar una accién civil o criminal contra un empleador por violaciones de la ley.
El empleado también puede iniciar una accion legal para recuperar salarios
atrasados. La corte le puede otorgar los costos de abogados, gastos de la corte,
pagos por danos, e intereses.

Cualquier persona que tenga una pregunta en relacion al Acta de Horas y
Salarios, puede escribir o [lamar a:

1-800-NC-LABOR (1-800-625-2267)

Clasificacion de Empleados

Cualquier trabajador que es definido como empleado por el Acta de Horas
y Salarios de Carolina del Norte [(N.C. Estatuto General 95-25.2(4)], el Acta
de Clasificacion Justa de Carolina del Norte, el Cédigo de Ingresos Internos
adoptado por las leyes de la Seguridad al Trabajador de Carolina del Norte [(N.C.
Estatuto General 96-1(b)(10)], el Acta de Recompensa al Trabajador de Carolina
del Norte [(N.C. Estatuto General. 97-2(2)], o el Acta de Ingresos de Carolina del
Norte [(N.C. Estatuto General. 105-163.1(4)] debera ser tratado como empleado.

Cualquier empleado que cree que ha sido clasificado incorrectamente como
contratista independiente por su empleador, puede reportar su sospecha a la
Comision Industrial de Carolina del Norte la Division de Clasificacion de Empleados
por via telefénica, correo electrénico o fax. Cuando haga su denuncia, por favor
tenga disponible la direccion fisica de la empresa, la direccidn para el recibo de
correo, y si disponible, el nimero de teléfono y correo electrénico del empleador:

Criminal Investigations and Employee Classification Division

N.C. Industrial Commission

1233 Mail Service Center

Raleigh, NC 27699-1233

Correo Electrénico: fraudcomplaints@ic.nc.gov

Teléfono: 1-888-891-4895 (in North Carolina)

Fax: 919-508-8300 (Criminal Investigations/Employee Classification Div.)

Leyes de Derecho a Trabajar

El Estado Carolina del Norte se gobierna por las leyes del “Derecho a Trabajar”. El
Derecho aTrabajar aplica a las negociaciones colectivas o las uniones laborales.
Los derechos de unindividuo para trabajar no pueden ser negados o disminuidos
de ninguna manera por el simple hecho de que el individuo sea miembro de una
unidn, organizacion o asociacion laboral, o porque el individuo seleccione no ser
partidario de cualquier union, organizacion o asociacién laboral. Un empleador
no puede requerir como condicidn de empleo que un individuo pague por ser
miembro de una union laboral. Igualmente, el empleador no puede entrar en un
acuerdo con una unién laboral en donde (1) individuos que no sean miembros
de la unién sean negados la habilidad de trabajar para ese empleador, (2) que

la afiliacion y membrecia sea una condicidn o una continuacion de empleo, o (3)
que la union laboral pueda monopolizar el empleo en cualquier empresa.

El Departamento de Trabajo del Estado de Carolina del Norte no tiene autoridad
sobre las uniones laborales. Empleados con preocupaciones en relacion a las
uniones laborales, pueden contactar la Oficina Regional de la Junta Nacional
de Relaciones Laborales. La Junta Nacional de Relaciones Laborales es una
agencia federal independiente que se dedica a la proteccién de los derechos
del trabajador en el sector privado, para unirse con o sin uniones laborales para
mejoria de sus salarios y condiciones laborales. Contacta de la Oficina Regional:

Subregional Office 11 - Winston-Salem, NC
One West Fourth Street

Suite 710

Winston-Salem, NC 27101

Teléfono: 336-631-5201

Discriminacion Laboral Retaliatoria

La Oficina de Discriminacion por Laboral Retaliatoria (Retaliatory Employment
Discrimination Bureau) del Departamento de Trabajo de Carolina del Norte
investiga las quejas presentadas por los empleados contra sus empleadores por
presuntas violaciones a la Ley de Discriminacion por Represalia en el Empleo
(Retaliatory Employment Discrimination Act, o REDA por sus siglas en inglés).
Bajo REDA, un patrono no puede tomar represalias contra un empleado por
participar en actividades protegidas por REDA, tales como presentar un reclamo,
o iniciar una investigacion relacionada a ciertos derechos bajo los siguientes
estatutos:

e Reclamos de compensacion al trabajador (workers’ compensation claims)
e Quejas relacionadas con horas y salarios
e Quejas relacionadas con seguridad y salud ocupacional

e Quejas relacionadas con seguridad y salud en minas

* Discriminacidon por examenes geneticos

e Discriminacién por anemia drepanocitica o falciforme (sickle cell anemia)
 Discriminacién por servicio en la Guardia Nacional de Carolina del Norte

e Participacion en el sistema de justicia juvenil

e Ejercer derechos bajo las leyes de violencia doméstica

e Quejas con respecto a la regulacion de pesticidas

e Quejas con respecto a la regulaciéon de parafernalia de drogas

Los empleados que crean que han sufrido represalias en su empleo debido a
actividades bajo los estatutos anteriores, o empleadores que tengan preguntas
sobre la aplicacion de REDA, pueden llamar al:

1-800-NC-LABOR (1-800-625-2267)

Una queja bajo REDA debe ser sometida dentro de 180 dias desde la fecha de

a represalia.
LUKE FARLEY ’g
COMMISSIONER OF LABOR

www.labor.nc.gov/labor-law-posters




