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N.C. Department of Labor

Wage and Hour Act

Minimum Wage: $7.25 per hour (effective 7/24/09).

BnployusmNmthCﬂolmﬁi{emqmdtnpﬁyﬂlelnglnrofﬂu

wage rate established by state or federal laws The federal
minimum wage increased to $7.25 per howr effective July 24, 2009;
therefore, employers in North Carolina are required to pay their
employees at least $7.25 per hour.

An employer may pay as little as $2.13 per hour to tipped employees so
long as each employee receives encugh in tips to make up the difference
between the wages paid and the minimum wage. Employees mmst be
allowed to keep all tips, except that pooling is permitted if no employee’s
tips are reduced more than 15%. The employer mmst keep an accurate and
complete record of tips as certified by each employee monthly or for each pay
period. Without these records, the employer may not be allowed the tip credit.

Certain full-time students may be paid 90% of the minimum wage, rounded
to the lowest nickel.

Overtime
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as exempt under the FLSA. Exemptions may be found tn NCGS § 95-25.14.

Youth Employment

Rules for all youths under 18 years old are: Youth employment
certificates are required. To obtain a YEC, please visit our website at
www.labor.ne.gov.

Hazardons or Detrimental Occupations: State and federal labor laws
pmtectyomilwndmbymakmgltdlegalfmemplﬂymwlmtﬂiﬂnm
1 jobs. For ple, non ltural workers under 18 years of age
miynntopaateaﬂm‘kh.ﬂ;o}m'mminytypesofpowueqmpmlmuhﬂ
meat shicers, circular saws, band saws, bakery machinery or woodworking
machines; work as an electrician or electrician’s helper; or work from any
height above 10 feet, including the use of ladders and scaffolds. Certain
exemptions apply for Supervised Practice Youth Internships. For a complete
list of prohibited jobs, please visit our website at www.laborne.gov.
Additional rules for 16- and 17-vear-olds are: No work between 11 pm.
and 5 a:m when there is school the next day. Exception: When the employer
gets written permission from the youth’s parents and principal.
Additional rules for 14- and 15-year-olds are: Where work can be perfirmed:
Reetail busi food service establish sa'moemumsamicﬁmsnfoﬂn(
busi Wosk is not permitted in . mining o or
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of a business holding an ABC permit for the on-premises sale or consumption of
alcoholic beverages. except that youths 14 years of age can work on the outside
mﬂhmmmmﬁmam«@mﬂm
ymthnmtmvolvedwﬁl"‘ ing or sale of alcoholi

N.C. Department of Labor

Mezaimum hours per day: Three on school days; eight if a non-school day.
Mercimum hours per week: 18 when school 1s in session; 40 when school is
not in session.

Hours of the day: May work only between 7 am. and 7 pm. (9 pm. from
June 1 through Labor Day when school is not in session).
Breaks: 30-mimute breaks are required after any period of five

Wage and Hour Notice to Employees

Complaints

The department’s Wage and Houwr Bureau mvestigates complaints and

may collect back wages plus interest if they are due fo the employee.

The state of North Carolina may bring civil or criminal actions against

the employer for violations of the law. The employee may also sue the

mnplnyu'fm’had(wxges The court may award attorney’s fees, costs,
! and interest.

hours of work.
Additional rules for youths under 14 vears old are: Work is generally
nntpammiemeptw]nnwmkmgfmﬂnyuﬂhspamnls in newspaper
eling: or acting in movie, television, radio or
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These state youth employment provisions do not apply to farm, domestic or
government work.

Wage Payment

Wages are due on the regular payday. If reqs mwriting, final g
must be sent by trackable mail. When the n.nwum of wages is in dispute, the

S of the undi d cannot restrict the right of
t'h.e anployee to continue a claim for the rest of the wages.

Employees must be notified in writing of paydays, pay rates, policies on
vacation and sick leave, and of commission, bonus and other pay matters.
Employers must notify employees i writing of any reduction in the rate of
promised wages at least one pay period prior to such change.
Deductions from paychecks are limited to those required by law and
those agreed to in writing on or before payday. If the written authorization
that the employee signs does not specify a dollar amount, the employee
must receive prior to payday (1) written notice of the actual amount to be
deducted, (2) written notice of their right to withdraw the authorization,
and (3) be given a reasonable opporunity to withdraw the authorization.
The written authorization or written notice may be given in an electronic
format, provided the requirements of the Uniform Electronic Transactions
Act {Chapter 66, Article 40 of the N.C. General Statutes) are met.

The withholding or diversion of wages owed for the employer’s benefit
may not be taken if they reduce wages below the minimum wage. No
reductions may be made to overtime wages owed.

Deductions for cash or inventory shortages or for loss or damage to an
employer's property may not be taken unless the employee receives
seven days’ advance notice. This seven-day rule does not apply to these
deduchmsmadeatﬁnumnmhanployum&ynotuseﬁ:mdordmtss
to require employees to pay back p

If the employer provides vacation pay plans to employees, the employer shall
give vacation time off or payment in lien of time off, as ired by

hacl

Anyone having a question about the Wage and Hour Act may call:
1-800-NC-LABOR (1-800-625-2267)

Employee Classification

Any worker who is defined as an employes by the N.C. Wage and Hour Act
(N.C. Gen Stat. 95-25.2(4)), the N.C. Employee Fair Classification Act, the
Internal Reverme Code as adopted under N.C. Employment Security laws
(N.C. Gen. Stat. 96-1(b)(10)), the N.C. Workers’ Compensation Act (N.C.
Gen. Stat. 97-2(2)), or the N.C. Revenue Act (N.C. Gen. Stat. 105-163.1(4))
shall be treated as an employee.

Any employes who believes that he or she has been misclassified as an
mdependentcmndmhyhnurhmemploywmﬁympmﬂmsmpmd

ification to theN.C. Industri ission’s Employee Classification
Section by phone, email or fax. When filing a complaint, please provide the

physi.callocahnn,msﬂmgad.dre: mﬁwﬂaﬂgmtelephmmmham
email address for the emp d of isclassification:

F employ

Employee Classification Section.
N.C. Industrial Commission

1233 Mail Service Center

Raleigh, NC 27609-4333

Email: emp classification@ic.nc_gov
Phone: 919-807-2582

Fax: 019-715-0282

Employment ar Will

NCDOLh i ding laborunion laws. Foremployee
comemsregatdmglabmmmms umladheRgg:malOﬂimofﬂmNaucml
Labor Relations Board. The NLRB is an independent federal agency that
protects the rights of private sector employees to join together, with or without a
union, to improve their wages and working conditions. Regional office contact:

NLEB—Region 11 Office

Republic Square

4035 University Parkway, Suite 200

‘Winston-Salem, NC 27106-3325

336-631-5201

Retaliatory Employment
Discrimination

The deg s Retali Di Bureau
complmﬁsﬁledbyanphymagmztﬂluanployﬁsfon]kgeduohumof
the N.C. Retaliatory Employment Di ion Act (REDA). Under REDA.
an employer may not retaliate against an employee for engaging i REDA-
protected activities, such as filing a claim or initiating an inquiry, related to
certain rights under the following:

Wage and Hour Complaints

- Occupational Safety and Health Complaints

- Mine Safety and Health Complaints

* Genetic Testing Discrimination

- Sickle Cell or F in C Carriers D

+ N.C National Guard Service Discrimination

- Participation in the Juvenile Justice System

North Carolina is an employment-at-will state. The term “employ at:
will” simply means that unless there is a specific law to protect employees or
an employment contract providing otherwise, ﬂ:.alanemphyucanmtﬂs
employees as it sees fit and the employer can an employee at the

will of the employer for any reason or no reason at all.

Right-to-Work Laws

North Carolina is a “right-to-work™ state. Right-to-work applies to collective

bargaining or labor unions. The right of persons to work cannot be denied

ormducedmmywaybecauseﬂxyameﬁxrm:mbesofahbmnmm
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policy or practice. Employees must be notified in writing of any company
policy or practice that results in the loss or forfeiture of vacation time or pay.
Employees not so notified are not subject to such loss or forfeiture.

Thewagepaym.mpmvmapplytn all private-sector employers doing

serving, di
- Unless action is taken by the N.C. General Assembly, this rule
wﬂapplymymﬁsmdaléyemofﬂg!dfmlml 2024.).

in North Carolina. The wage payment provisions do not apply to
any federal. state or local agency or instrumentality of government.

or labor or chose not to be a
mﬂnha'nfmynﬂ]zbnﬂmjmhemplnywcamtmqmmaﬂypmﬂn,ss
a condition of employ or of emplo . to pay any dues
or other fees of any kind to a labor union. Also. an employer cannot enter into
mag;emlmlm&alﬂhotmnmuﬂmeby(l)nmnmmnmbmmd&med

the right to work for the employer, (2) I p is made a condition of
mnplo}mmlmccmmahmofmplo}mml,mﬁ)ﬂm labor union acquires
an employment monopoly in any enterprise.

* Pesticide Regulation Complaints
* Drug Paraphernalia Complaints
Bnplnymwhohehewﬂxyhﬂebemnﬁhntedagﬂmstmﬂmr:mph}mt
under the b tutes, or employers who have questions
about the application of REDA, may call:

1-800-NC-LABOR (1-800-625-2267)

AREDA complaint must be filed with the bureau within 180 days of the date of retaliation.

www.labor.nc.gov

Follow NCDOL on
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Wage and Hour Notice to Employees and OSH Notice to Employees must be posted together.

OSH Notice to Employees

Safety and Health

N.C. Department of Labor Responsibilities

The state of North Carolina has a federally approved program
to administer the Occupational Safety and Health Act in North
Carolina. This program is administered by the N.C. Department
of Labor, Occupational Safety and Health (OSH) Division.

The OSH Division has the following responsibilities and powers:

* Inspections—The OSH Division conducts workplace inspections
that can be triggered by complaints, accidents or because the
workplace has been randomly selected for an inspection.

« Citations—Following an inspection, the employer may be
cited for one or more violations of the OSHA standards. The
employer will be given a timetable to correct the violation to
avoid lurther action.

* Penalties—The Commissioner shall have the authority to assess
penalties against any employer who violates the requirements of the
OSH Act. The Commissioner shall adjust minimum and maximum
civil penalties in accordance with the requirements set [orth in the
U.S. Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers published by
the U.S. Department of Labor as necessary to comply with federal
law. The Commissioner shall have a period of 60 calendar days
from the date a final rule is published in the Federal Register to
publish the civil penalties in the North Carolina Register under 13
NCAC 07A .0301 or any related or subsequent regulations setting
penalty standards in compliance with Part 1903 of Title 29 of the
Code of Federal Regulations, and on its website.

* OSHA Standards—The division adopts all federally mandated
OSHA standards verbatim or can rewrite them to meet state
conditions, as long as the new version is at least as strict as the
federal standard.

A copy of any specific standard adopted by the OSII Division
is available free of charge. The entire “General Industry” or
“Construction Industry” standards are available for a nominal
cost by calling 1-800-625-2267 or 919-707-7876.

Unemployment Insurance

NCDOL. does not handle matters relating to unemployment
insurance. If you would like information about unemployment
insurance policies or procedures, please contact the Department
of Commerce, Division of Employment Security, P.O. Box 25903,
Raleigh, NC 27611-5903, 1-888-737-0259; www.ncesc.com.

Employer Rights and Responsibilities

Public and private sector employers have a “general duty” to
provide their employees with workplaces that are free of recog-
nized hazards likely to cause scrious injury or death. Employers
must comply with the OSHA safety and health standards adopted
by the Labor Department.

Inspections—An employer has the legal right to refuse to
allow an inspector to enter the workplace without an admin-
istrative inspection warrant. If this occurs, the inspector will
obtain a warrant to conduct the inspection. The employer
has the right to accompany the inspector during the physical
inspection.

Discrimination—It is illegal to retaliate in any way against
an employee for raising a health or safety concern, filing
a complaint, reporting a work-related injury or illness, or
assisting an inspector. The department will investigate and
may prosecute employers who take such action.

Citations—Ifan OSH inspection results in one or more citations,
the employer is required to promptly and prominently display
the citation(s) at or near the place where the violation allegedly
oceurred. It must remain posted for three working days or until
the violation has been corrected or abated, whichever is longer.

Contesting Penaltics—Once an employer has been cited, he or
she may request an “informal conference” with OSII officials
to discuss the penalty, abatement or other issues related to the
citation. This request must be made within 15 working days after
the citation is received.

The employer may formally contest (by filing a “Notice of
Contest™) the citation(s) or proposed penalty to the N.C.
Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission. The
Review Commission is an independent body that hears and
decides contestments by employers and employees concerning
citations, abatement periods and penalties.

Employers wishing to know more about the procedures for

filing a “Notice of Contest™ should contact the Review Commission.
Telephone: 919-733-3589. Website: www.oshrb.state.nc.us.

Injury and Illness Records—Employers with 11 or more
employees, unless specifically exempted, are required to

maintain updated occupational injury and illness records of

their employees. Recordkeeping forms and information
concerning these requircments may be obtained from the
Education, Training and Technical Assistance Bureau, N.C.
Department of Labor. Call 1-800-625-2267 or 919-707-7876.

Accident and Fatality Reporting—An employer must report
the following:

Within cight hours: Any work-related fatality.
Within 24 hours:

» Any work-related in-patient hospitalization of one or more
employees.

* Any work-rclated amputation.
* Any work-related loss of an eye.

To report an accident, call the OSH Division at 1-800-625-2267
or 919-779-8560.

Employee Rights and Responsibilities

Public and private sector employees must comply with occupational
safety and health standards, rules, regulations, and those orders issued
under OSHA that relate to their own actions and conduct.

Complaints—An employce has a right to make a complaint
regarding workplace conditions he or she believes are unsafe,
unhealthy or in violation of OSHA standards. When an OSH
inspector is in an employee’s workplace, that employee has a
right to point out unsafe or unhealthy conditions and to freely
answer any questions asked by the inspector. When making
a complaint, the employee may request that his or her name
be kept confidential.

To make a complaint, call 1-800-625-2267 or 919-779-8560.
Complaints also can be made online at www.labor.nc.gov.

Contesting Abatement—Employees may contest any abate-
ment period set as a result of an OSH inspection at their
workplace. An employee has the right to appear before the
Review Commission to contest the abatement period and
seek judicial review.

N.C. Workers’ Compensation Notice to Injured Workers and Employers (Form 17)

NCDOL does not handle matters relating to workers’ compensation. If you would like information about workers’ compensation policies or
procedures, please contact the N.C. Industrial Commission at N.C. Industrial Commission, 4340 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-4340;
919-807-2500; www.ic.nc.gov. Form 17 must be prominently posted and must be printed in the same colors and format that appear on the
Industrial Commission website. To download and print the current version of Form 17, visit www.ic.nc.gov.

Other OSHA Information
* Federal Monitoring—The OSH Division is monitored by

the U.S. Department of Labor. Federal authorities ensure that
continued statc administration is merited. Any person who
has a complaint about the state’s administration of OSHA
may contact the Regional Office of the U.S. Department of
Labor, 61 Forsyth St. S.W., Suite 6150, Atlanta, GA 30303.

* Additional Information or Questions—Anyone having a

question about any of the above information may write or call:

N.C. Department of Labor
Occupational Safety and Health Division
1101 Mail Service Center

Ralcigh, NC 27699-1101

Phone: 1-800-625-2267

Fax: 919-707-7964

E-mail: ask.osh@labor.nc.gov
www.labor.nc.gov

D obor

é Josh Dobson

Commissioner of Labor

This notice must be posted conspicuously.
This poster is available free of charge to all
North Carolina workplaces.

Call 1-800-625-2267 or 919-707-7876
or order online.

1-800-NC-LABOR
(1-800-625-2267)
www.labor.nc.gov

Follow NCDOL on
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