
By Jason Tyson
Public Information Offi cer

The N.C. Department of Labor is urging businesses 
across the state to be on the lookout for suspicious 
correspondence, after the department recently received 
multiple reports of persons using scare tactics or 
threatening language in an attempt to sell labor law posters 
to employers. 

“These scams surface several times a year and 
businesses will contact us,” Labor Commissioner Cherie 
Berry said. “The threats of fi nes are bogus and should be 
ignored. The Department of Labor provides free sets of 
labor law posters to businesses.”

The scammers will often pose as either government 
offi cials or as acting on behalf of a poster company, 
such as the North Carolina Labor Law Poster Service, 
a non-regulatory entity that does not operate under any 
government agency. Other names these companies are 
known to go by include Personnel Concepts and Labor 
Law Compliance. There have been reports of these 
companies threatening fi nes from $7,000 to as much as 
$17,000 for non-compliance. Mailings can often appear 
to be from an offi cial source and request fees for posters 
that cost anywhere from $84 to $200. Businesses should 
be aware that scammers may also attempt to contact them 
by either email, text or by phone.

While labor law posters are required to be displayed at 
a workplace by law, NCDOL inspectors carry the most 
up-to-date versions of the posters in their vehicles and will 
distribute them free of charge. The N.C. Department of 
Labor will never fi ne a business that has older versions of 
the poster displayed.

The NCDOL will print new versions anytime a 
signifi cant law is changed or updated by Congress. 
Businesses are not required to order a new poster each time a change is made. Employers that wish to order new posters can visit 
www.nclabor.com/posters/posters.htm or can call 1-800-625-2267.

The labor law posters are printed in two sections and must be posted together in an area where employees frequently gather. If you have 
a poster with a printed date of 12/14 or earlier in the bottom right-hand corner, please order a new set of posters for free. Businesses with 
more recent versions can download a patch here that updates the change to the OSH poster.
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NCDOL Warns Employers of Poster Scam

March-April 2017

Wage and Hour Notice to Employees and OSH Notice to Employees must be posted together.

OSH Notice to Employees
Safety and Health (OSHA)
N.C. Department of Labor Responsibilities
The state of North Carolina has a federally approved program 
to administer the Occupational Safety and Health Act (OSHA) 
in North Carolina. This program is administered by the N.C. 
Department of Labor, Occupational Safety and Health (OSH) 
Division.
The OSH Division has the following responsibilities and powers:
• Inspections—The OSH Division conducts workplace inspections 

that can be triggered by complaints, accidents or because the 
workplace has been randomly selected for an inspection.

• Citations—Following an inspection, the employer may be 
cited for one or more violations of the OSHA standards. The 
employer will be given a timetable to correct the violation to 
avoid further action.

• Penalties—An employer can be fi ned up to $7,000 for each 
“serious” violation. Serious violations that involve injury to 
a person under 18 years of age could result in fi nes up to 
$14,000 per violation. An additional maximum $7,000 penalty 
can be assessed for each day an employer fails to correct or 
abate a violation after the allotted time to do so has passed.
A penalty of up to $70,000 may be issued for each willful or 
repeat violation of an OSHA standard.
Criminal penalties of up to $10,000 may apply against employers 
who are found guilty of willfully violating any standard, rule 
or regulation that has resulted in an employee’s death.

• OSHA Standards—The division adopts all federally mandated
OSHA standards verbatim or can rewrite them to meet state 
conditions, as long as the new version is at least as strict as the 
federal standard.
A copy of any specifi c standard adopted by the OSH Division 
is available free of charge. The entire “General Industry” or 
“Construction Industry” standards are available for a nominal 
cost by calling 1-800-625-2267 or 919-807-2875.

Employer Rights and Responsibilities
Public and private sector employers have a “general duty” to 
provide their employees with workplaces that are free of recog-
nized hazards likely to cause serious injury or death. Employers 
must comply with the OSHA safety and health standards adopted 
by the Labor Department.
• Inspections—An employer has the legal right to refuse to 

allow an inspector to enter the workplace without an admin-
istrative inspection warrant. If this occurs, the inspector will 
obtain a warrant to conduct the inspection. The employer 
has the right to accompany the inspector during the physical 
inspection.

• Discrimination—It is illegal to retaliate in any way against 
an employee for raising a health or safety concern, fi ling 
a complaint, reporting a work-related injury or illness, or 
assisting an inspector. The department will investigate and 
may prosecute employers who take such action.

• Citations—If an OSH inspection results in one or more citations, 
the employer is required to promptly and prominently display 
the citation(s) at or near the place where the violation allegedly 
occurred. It must remain posted for three working days or until 
the violation has been corrected or abated, whichever is longer.

• Contesting Penalties—Once an employer has been cited, he or 
she may request an “informal conference” with OSH offi cials 
to discuss the penalty, abatement or other issues related to the 
citation. This request must be made within 15 working days after 
the citation is received.
The employer may formally contest (by fi ling a “Notice of 
Contest”) the citation(s) or proposed penalty to the N.C. 
Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission. The 
Review Commission is an independent body that hears and 
decides contestments by employers and employees concerning 
citations, abatement periods and penalties.
Employers wishing to know more about the procedures for
fi ling a “Notice of Contest” should contact the Review Commission. 
Telephone: 919-733-3589. Website: www.oshrb.state.nc.us.

• Injury and Illness Records—Employers with 11 or more 
employees, unless specifi cally exempted, are required to 
maintain updated occupational injury and illness records of 
their employees. Recordkeeping forms and information 
concerning these requirements may be obtained from the 
Education, Training and Technical Assistance Bureau, N.C. 
Department of Labor. Call 1-800-625-2267 or 919-807-2875.

• Accident and Fatality Reporting—An employer must report 
the following:
Within eight hours: Any work-related fatality.
Within 24 hours:
• Any work-related in-patient hospitalization of one or more 

employees.
• Any work-related amputation.
• Any work-related loss of an eye.

To report an accident, call the OSH Division at 1-800-625-2267 
or 919-779-8560.

Employee Rights and Responsibilities
Public and private sector employees must comply with occupational 
safety and health standards, rules, regulations, and those orders issued 
under OSHA that relate to their own actions and conduct.
• Complaints—An employee has a right to make a complaint 

regarding workplace conditions he or she believes are unsafe, 
unhealthy or in violation of OSHA standards. When an OSH 
inspector is in an employee’s workplace, that employee has a 
right to point out unsafe or unhealthy conditions and to freely 
answer any questions asked by the inspector. When making 
a complaint, the employee may request that his or her name 
be kept confi dential.
To make a complaint, call 1-800-625-2267 or 919-779-8560.
Complaints also can be made online at www.nclabor.com.

• Contesting Abatement—Employees may contest any abate-
ment period set as a result of an OSH inspection at their 
workplace. An employee has the right to appear before the 
Review Commission to contest the abatement period and 
seek judicial review.

Other OSHA Information
• Federal Monitoring—The OSH Division is monitored by 

the U.S. Department of Labor. Federal authorities ensure that 
continued state administration is merited. Any person who 
has a complaint about the state’s administration of OSHA 
may contact the Regional Offi ce of the U.S. Department of 
Labor, 61 Forsyth St. S.W., Suite 6T50, Atlanta, GA 30303.

• Additional Information or Questions—Anyone having a 
question about any of the above information may write or call:

N.C. Department of Labor
Occupational Safety and Health Division
1101 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1101
Phone: 1-800-625-2267 or 919-807-2796
Fax: 919-807-2856
E-mail: ask.osh@labor.nc.gov
www.nclabor.com

Unemployment Insurance
NCDOL does not handle matters relating to unemployment 
insurance. If you would like information about unemployment 
insurance policies or procedures, please contact the Department 
of Commerce, Division of Employment Security, P.O. Box 25903, 
Raleigh, NC 27611-5903, 1-888-737-0259; www.ncesc.com.

N.C. Workers’ Compensation Notice to Injured Workers and Employers (Form 17)
NCDOL does not handle matters relating to workers’ compensation. If you would like information about workers’ compensation policies or 
procedures, please contact the N.C. Industrial Commission at N.C. Industrial Commission, 4340 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-4340; 
919-807-2500; www.ic.nc.gov. Form 17 must be prominently posted and must be printed in the same colors and format that appear on the 
Industrial Commission website. To download and print the current version of Form 17, visit www.ic.nc.gov.

This notice must be posted conspicuously. 
This poster is available free of charge to all 

North Carolina workplaces. 
Call 1-800-625-2267 or 919-807-2875 

or order online.

1-800-NC-LABOR
(1-800-625-2267)

www.nclabor.    com
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N.C. Department of Labor
Wage and Hour Notice to Employees

Wage and Hour Act
Minimum Wage: $7.25 per hour (effective 7/24/09).
Employers in North Carolina are required to pay the higher of the 
minimum wage rate established by state or federal laws. The federal 
minimum wage increased to $7.25 per hour effective July 24, 2009; 
therefore, employers in North Carolina are required to pay their 
employees at least $7.25 per hour.
An employer may pay as little as $2.13 per hour to tipped employees so 
long as each employee receives enough in tips to make up the difference 
between the wages paid and the minimum wage. Employees must be 
allowed to keep all tips, except that pooling is permitted if no employee’s 
tips are reduced more than 15 percent. The employer must keep an accurate 
and complete record of tips as certifi ed by each employee monthly or 
for each pay period. Without these records, the employer may not be 
allowed the tip credit.
Certain full-time students may be paid 90 percent of the minimum wage, 
rounded to the lowest nickel.

Overtime
Time and one-half must be paid after 40 hours of work in any one work-
week, except after 45 hours at seasonal recreational and amusement 
establishments. The state overtime provision does not apply to some 
employers and employees who are exempt.

Youth Employment
Rules for all youths under 18 years old are: Youth employment 
certifi cates (YEC) are required. To obtain a YEC, please visit our 
website at www.nclabor.com.
Hazardous or Detrimental Occupations: State and federal labor laws 
protect youth workers by making it illegal for employers to hire them in 
dangerous jobs. For example, non-agricultural workers under 18 years 
of age may not operate a forklift; operate many types of power equip-
ment such as meat slicers, circular saws, band saws, bakery machinery 
or woodworking machines; work as an electrician or electrician’s helper; 
or work from any height above 10 feet, including the use of ladders and 
scaffolds. For a complete list of prohibited jobs, please visit our website 
at www.nclabor.com.
Additional rules for 16- and 17-year-olds are: No work between 11 
p.m. and 5 a.m. when there is school the next day. Exception: When the 
employer gets written permission from the youth’s parents and principal.
Additional rules for 14- and 15-year-olds are:

Where work can be performed: Retail businesses, food service 
establishments, service stations and offi ces of other businesses. Work 
is not permitted in manufacturing, mining or construction, or with 
power-driven machinery, or on the premises of a business holding 
an ABC permit for the on-premises sale or consumption of alcoholic 
beverages; except that youths at least 14 years of age can work on the 

outside grounds of the premises with written consent from a parent 
or guardian as long as the youth is not involved with the preparation, 
serving, dispensing or sale of alcoholic beverages.
Maximum hours per day: Three on school days; eight if a non-school day.
Maximum hours per week: 18 when school is in session; 40 when 
school is not in session.
Hours of the day: May work only between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. (9 p.m. 
from June 1 through Labor Day when school is not in session).
Breaks: 30-minute breaks are required after any period of fi ve 
consecutive hours of work.

Additional rules for youths under 14 years old are: Work is generally 
not permitted except when working for the youth’s parents; in newspaper 
distribution to consumers; modeling; or acting in movie, television, radio 
or theater production.
These state youth employment provisions do not apply to farm, domestic 
or government work.

Wage Payment
Wages are due on the regular payday. If requested, fi nal paychecks must 
be mailed. When the amount of wages is in dispute, the employer’s pay-
ment of the undisputed portion cannot restrict the right of the employee 
to continue a claim for the rest of the wages.
Employees must be notifi ed of paydays, pay rates, policies on vaca-
tion and sick leave, and of commission, bonus and other pay matters. 
Employers must notify employees in writing or through a posted notice 
maintained in a place accessible to its employees of any reduction in the 
rate of promised wages at least 24 hours prior to such change.
Deductions from paychecks are limited to those required by law and 
those agreed to in writing on or before payday. If the written authori-
zation that the employee signs does not specify a dollar amount, the 
employee must receive prior to payday (1) written notice of the actual 
amount to be deducted, (2) written notice of their right to withdraw the 
authorization, and (3) be given a reasonable opportunity to withdraw 
the authorization. The written authorization or written notice may be 
given in an electronic format, provided the requirements of the Uniform 
Electronic Transactions Act (Chapter 66, Article 40 of the N.C. General 
Statutes) are met.
The withholding or diversion of wages owed for the employer’s benefi t 
may not be taken if they reduce wages below the minimum wage. No 
reductions may be made to overtime wages owed.
Deductions for cash or inventory shortages or for loss or damage to an 
employer’s property may not be taken unless the employee receives seven 
days’ advance notice. This seven-day rule does not apply to these deduc-
tions made at termination. An employer may not use fraud or duress to 
require employees to pay back protected amounts.
If the employer provides vacation pay plans to employees, the employer 
shall give vacation time off or payment in lieu of time off, as required by 

company policy or practice. Employees must be notifi ed in writing or 
through a posted notice of any company policy or practice that results in 
the loss or forfeiture of vacation time or pay. Employees not so notifi ed 
are not subject to such loss or forfeiture.
The wage payment provisions apply to all private-sector employers doing 
business in North Carolina. The wage payment provisions do not apply to 
any federal, state or local agency or instrumentality of government.

Complaints
The department’s Wage and Hour Bureau investigates complaints and 
collects back wages plus interest if they are due to the employee. The 
state of North Carolina may bring civil or criminal actions against the 
employer for violations of the law. The employee may also sue the 
employer for back wages. The court may award attorney’s fees, costs, 
liquidated damages and interest.
Anyone having a question about the Wage and Hour Act may write or call:

N.C. Department of Labor
Wage and Hour Bureau
1101 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1101
Phone: 1-800-625-2267 or 919-807-2796
Fax: 888-733-9389
www.nclabor.com

Employment at Will—Right-to-Work Laws
North Carolina is an employment-at-will state. The term “employ-
ment-at-will” simply means that unless there is a specifi c law to protect 
employees or there is an employment contract providing otherwise, then 
an employer can treat its employees as it sees fi t and the employer can 
discharge an employee at the will of the employer for any reason or no 
reason at all.
North Carolina is a “right-to-work” state, which means that the right of 
a person to work cannot be denied or abridged because that person be-
longs—or does not belong—to a labor union. In addition, an employer 
cannot require any person, as a condition of employment or continuation 
of employment, to pay any dues, fees or other charges of any kind to a 
labor union. Also, an employer cannot enter into an agreement with a labor 
union whereby (1) non-union members are denied the right to work for 
the employer, (2) membership is made a condition of employment or 
continuation of employment, or (3) the labor union acquires an employment 
monopoly in any enterprise.
In addition, in CWA v. Beck, 487 U.S. 735 (1988), the U.S. Supreme 
Court stated that if a collective bargaining agreement between an 
employer and a labor union requires employees to pay uniform periodic 
dues and initiation fees, employees who are not union members can 
object to the use of their payments for certain purposes and can only 
be required to pay their share of union costs relating to collective bar-
gaining, contract administration and grievance adjustment. Thus, if you 
believe that you have been required to pay dues or fees used in part to 
support activities not directly related to the duties of collective bargaining, 

you may be entitled to a refund and to an appropriate reduction in future 
payments.
NCDOL does not have any enforcement authority of these laws, but if 
you have any questions, contact the Regional Offi ce of the National Labor 
Relations Board (NLRB) at the following address and phone number:

NLRB—Region 11 Offi ce
Republic Square
4035 University Parkway, Suite 200
Winston-Salem, NC 27106-3325
336-631-5201

Employment Discrimination
The department’s Employment Discrimin ation Bureau (EDB) enforces 
the Retaliatory Employ ment Discrimination Act (REDA). Employees 
involved in the following activities are protected from retaliation or 
discrimination by their employer:

• Workers’ Compensation Claims
• Wage and Hour Complaints
• Occupational Safety and Health Complaints
• Mine Safety and Health Complaints
• Genetic Testing
• Sickle Cell or Hemoglobin Carriers
• N.C. National Guard Service
• The Juvenile Justice System
• Victims of Domestic Violence
• Pesticide Regulation Complaints
Employers who have questions about the application of REDA, or 
employees who believe they have been discriminated or retaliated 
against, should contact the EDB information offi cer:

N.C. Department of Labor
Employment Discrimination Bureau
1101 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1101
Phone: 1-800-625-2267 or 919-807-2831
Fax: 919-807-2824
www.nclabor.com

All complaints must be made within 180 days of the date of retaliation.
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It is hard to believe that spring has sprung before we barely wrap up the 
fi rst quarter of 2017.  Hopefully, the nice weather is here to stay as we kick 
off the 2017 Safety Awards Banquet season.

There are a total of 30 safety award banquets scheduled across the state 
between March and June. In April I will attend banquets in Roxboro, Shelby, 
Greensboro, Greenville, Wilson, Asheboro and Charlotte. The banquet 
schedule is included on page 6 in this edition of the Labor Ledger.

This year marks the 71st year for the Safety Awards Program and I am 
looking forward to personally attending each of the 30 scheduled banquets. 

It has been rewarding for me to watch the popularity of the program 
grow over the past 16 years as Labor Commissioner. It has been equally 
rewarding to watch the injury and illness rate for private industry gradually 
decline during this same time period. 

I strongly believe there is a direct correlation between the increased 
awareness and participation in the safety and health recognition programs 
our agency administers and the decrease in the state injury and illness rate. 

The injury and illness rate for private industry has dropped 51 percent 
over the last 16 years from 5.3 to 2.6 cases per 100 full-time workers—the 
lowest rate in state history. 

This record low injury and illness rate is a credit to the thousands of 
employers and employees of our state who participate in these safety and 
health programs and to many of you, our Labor Ledger subscribers, who 
take workplace safety and health seriously and make it a priority each and 
every day.  

When you consider the fact that North Carolina has more than 270,000 
businesses and 4 million plus workers statewide, this kind of success can 
only be achieved through a collaborative effort between private and 
public sectors. The combined awareness from the many safety and health 
recognition programs have helped save numerous lives and countless limbs 
in workplaces throughout North Carolina.  

So whether you are an employer or an employee, a manager or a 
frontline worker, thank you for all that you do and have done to help us reach 
our goal of making the Old North State the safest state in which to work.  

See you out on the road. 
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Recognition Roundup
Recognition Roundup identifi es businesses that qualify for one of the 

N.C. Department of Labor’s recognition programs. Congratulations to all 
of the recent award recipients. To view a complete list of all North Carolina 
Star recipient companies, click here.

To view a complete list of all North Carolina general industry SHARP 
companies, visit www.nclabor.com/osha/consult/sharp_sites.pdf.

Safety and Health Achievement Recognition Program 
(SHARP)

Sonoco Recycling, Hickory (renewal)

Carolina Star

Cintas Corporation, Location #205, Durham 

Glen Raven Technical Fabrics, Burnsville (recertifi cation)

Sandoz Inc., Wilson (recertifi cation)

 Bridgestone Bandag, Wilson (recertifi cation)

Public Sector Star

Roanoke Rapids Sanitary District, Roanoke Rapids

Rising Star

Cataler North Carolina, Lincolnton

Nova Development
Spring into Safety!

www.nclabor.com
www.nclabor.com
http://www.nclabor.com/osha/star/star.htm


Farmers Recognized at Annual Gold Star Growers Meeting
Wright presented with the Hudler Safety Award
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By Jason Tyson, Public Information Offi cer

Inspectors from N.C. Department of Labor’s Agricultural 
Safety and Health Bureau have been busy visiting migrant camps 
and farms this spring, in order to ensure living quarters and 
equipment meet state standards.

A grower who owns or operates a housing unit for any 
number of migrant workers must register the housing with the 
Department of Labor. After registration, the Department of Labor 
must inspect the housing before the migrants can occupy the unit.

Some farmers have been preparing for the height of the 
growing season since February, and most laborers are expected 
to arrive by June. Housing must meet occupational safety and 
health standards and specifi c standards for heat, fi re protection 
and kitchen sanitation. Migrant housing should be registered at 
least 45 days prior to occupancy and any units that do not meet 
the standards can result in fi nes and abatement requirements for 
the owners.

“We start in February, depending on the weather, and end up looking at about 1,700 housing units statewide,” ASH bureau chief Regina 
Cullen said. “At the farms we check the grounds to make sure they are clean, the buildings to make sure they are structurally sound, and 

look at other things like the stove, heat, refrigerator, ovens and 
bathrooms to make sure they are operational. These are places 
where folks are going to live a while, not just overnight.” 

For example, on a recent inspection in Zebulon, ASH inspector 
Johana Ramirez used a ground tester and other equipment to 
ensure all of the appliances at the migrant camp were in working 
order. She followed up by going over the safety check list with 
the grower.

The bureau rewards owners of migrant camps that go above 
and beyond minimum state requirements each year in February 
at its annual Gold Star Growers meeting, held at the N.C. State 
Fairgrounds in Raleigh. 

“Since we have been doing this for so long, the majority of 
people see us year after year and are in compliance,” Cullen said.  
“About 15 percent are Gold Star Growers, and our department 
always appreciates those that do more than we require.”

ASH Inspectors Busy During Growing Season

ASH inspector Johana Ramirez uses a tester to check the electricity of a 
refrigerator at a migrant camp in Nash County.

NCDOL Photo Library

Ramirez also tests the faucets to ensure the camp has running water, a 
requirement of all migrant camps in the state.

By Jason Tyson, Public Information Offi cer

The N.C. Department of Labor presented special awards to 
fi ve North Carolina farmers during the 23rd Annual Gold Star 
Growers Meeting held February 1-2 at the N.C. State Fairgrounds.

The awards are given to members of the agricultural community 
who voluntarily elect to provide housing that exceeds state standards 
for their migrant workers. These standards are required by law 
and are used during annual inspections performed by NCDOL’s 
Agricultural Safety and Health Bureau. 

At this year’s meeting, a total of 145 Growers were awarded the 
Double Gold Star Grower Award, and a total of 89 were awarded 
the Single Gold Star Award. Double Gold Star Growers are 
eligible for self-inspection of their housing in the upcoming year.

continued on page 4

NCDOL Photo Library

Labor Commissioner Cherie Berry presents Ron Wright with the Hudler Safety Training Award. 
(L-R): Robert Fulford, vice president of leaf operations; Regina Cullen, NCDOL ASH bureau 
chief; Ron Wright, senior leaf manager; Carol Wright; Commissioner Berry; Bridget Dutton, 
USDOL Wage and Hour Division; Rick Blaylock, USDOL Wage and Hour Division; Dale Hudler.

NCDOL Photo Library



“I’d like to thank the Gold Star Growers for being the best of the best,” 
said Labor Commissioner Cherie Berry. “They have set an example of how 
to treat their workers like family.”

Special awards were given to Richard Langley of Pender County for 
Best Maintained Housing, East. Pender Sharp of Wilson County was given 
the award for Exceptional Migrant Housing, while Patterson Farms of 
Rowan County received Best New Housing, West. Brian Richardson of 
Ashe County was awarded with Best Maintained Housing, West and Webb 
Family Farms of Wilson County was presented with the award for Best New 
Housing, East. 

“We’ve selected these recipients from those farmers who voluntarily 
chose to go above and beyond the standard requirements,” said Agricultural 
Safety and Health Bureau Chief Regina Cullen. 

On February 2, Ron Wright received the 2017 Hudler Safety Training 
Award. Wright is a senior leaf manager with R.J. Reynolds Tobacco 
Company in Winston-Salem.

The annual honor is given to an individual who presents exemplary 
safety training practices in the agricultural community. NCDOL fi rst began 

presenting the award in 2009 in honor of the late Ron Hudler, 
who was a long-time advocate for workplace safety at both the 
state and national levels. Hudler has also served as chair of the 
department’s Agricultural Safety and Health Council.

“Ron Wright understands the importance of safety training and 
his contributions have helped foster a culture of workplace safety 
here in the Tar Heel state and beyond,” Commissioner Berry said. 
“Mr. Wright certainly meets the criteria to earn this high honor.”

Wright is the fi rst non-grower to receive the distinction. Ron 
Hudler’s son Dale attended the meeting to help present the award, 
along with Commissioner Berry, Cullen and other offi cials.

“I am humbled and grateful to receive the Huddler Award. I 
understand without the commitment and contributions from 

growers, NCDOL and the U.S. Department of Labor, receiving this award would not be 
possible,” Wright said. “I have been extremely fortunate to have worked and partnered 
with Regina Cullen. The many successes in promoting farm safety are a direct result of 
Regina’s partnership with the tobacco industry.”

Farmers Recognized at Annual Gold Star Growers Meeting
Wright presented with the Hudler Safety Award
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Labor Commissioner Cherie Berry presents Patterson Farms with the award 
for Best New Housing, West. (L-R): Johana Ramirez, NCDOL ASH inspector, 
Randall Patterson, Nora Patterson, Commissioner Cherie Berry.

NCDOL Photo Library

Labor Commissioner Cherie Berry presents Pender Sharp with the award for 
Exceptional Migrant Housing. (L-R): Commissioner Cherie Berry, Antonio Nevarez, 
Pender Sharp, Maribel Nevarez, Drew Long, NCDOL ASH inspector.

NCDOL Photo Library

Labor Commissioner Cherie Berry presents Richard Langley 
with the award for Best Maintained Housing, East. (L-R): 
Commissioner Cherie Berry, Richard Langley, Alan Fortner, 
NCDOL ASH inspector.

NCDOL Photo Library

continued from page 3

Congratulations to all our
Gold Star Growers!NCDOL Photo Library

Labor Commissioner Cherie Berry presents Webb Family Farms with the award for 
Best New Housing, East. (L-R): Kathy Capps, NCDOL ASH inspector, Commissioner 
Cherie Berry, Thomas Webb.
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A small delegation, headed by Guosheng Su, director
of the Training Center of Sinopec Safety Engineering Institute,
which is located in China, recently met with Robert O’Neal,
safety training specialist of the Education, Training and Technical 
Assistance Bureau of the N.C. Department of Labor, on safety and 
health training and how we use Labor One as a mobile training
platform for instructing industries in North Carolina. 

O’Neal explained how Labor One is a mobile classroom
that brings safety and health training straight to the worksites. 
The 35-foot training unit will travel to any worksite within the 
state and provide free, hands-on training on a variety of safety 
and health topics. O’Neal further revealed that Labor One has 
a maximum capacity of 20 employees per class and explained 
how the trainers can rotate employees in and out throughout the 
course of a day. He explained that Labor One is typically used on 
construction jobsites for training but it was also used for public 
relation events, compliance accident investigations and as a mobile 
booth for safety and health fairs and conferences.

O’Neal covered the benefi ts of partnering with companies to 
prevent injuries and illnesses and by improving their capabilities 
to identify risk factors, control exposures, and conduct research. 
O’Neal mentioned that the N.C. Commissioner of Labor, Cherie 
Berry, has prioritized the need to improve worker safety through 
education, training and consultative services, and she has also discussed how this training has helped to reduce dozens of serious accidents and fatalities 
in our state. 

“We felt Mr. O’Neal was the most energetic and engaging trainer we have had,” Su said, through a translator. “Mr. O’Neal was an excellent safety and 
health education specialist, because he was very enthusiastic and goes into excellent detail concerning real life scenarios. This is compared to other specialist
we have met with in the past. He also engaged all members of the delegation to be sure they understood all the aspects of the North Carolina safety and 
health programs, and how a Labor One vehicle could benefi t the workers of China in places where classrooms do not exist.”

O’Neal gave the delegation two presentations inside Labor One, so they could see how the vehicle is used in both general industry and/or construction
worksites where no classroom is available. The fi rst presentation consisted of an “Introduction to OSHA and Inspection Process.” They were also 
introduced to our training course agendas and how we develop our safety and health training courses. O’Neal demonstrated how NCDOL has promoted 
safety by administering programs that encourage industries to comply voluntarily with safety and health standards. He also highlighted Consultative 
Services and how they offer free on-site consultation services which help employers, state and local government and the private sector to identify and 
correct potential safety and health hazards as well as comply with OSHA standards.

“They were as interested in our experience with mutual occupational safety and health problems as we were with theirs,” O’Neal said. “Workers are the 
ultimate benefi ciaries. It doesn’t matter what nation you live in this type of program can help improve occupational health and safety enforcement in all 
nations that have become world trading partners. However, it is good to create jobs, but it’s not good if it comes at the expense of the health of workers. 
We all can prevent the exploitation of workers and strengthen the ability of countries to monitor their workplaces and to make them safer no matter where 
they work in the world.”

The delegation was competent, experienced professionals that were open to exchanging information. O’Neal was informed by Guosheng that Sinopec 
attaches great importance to its employees’ health. He said they help to guide all subsidiaries to conduct occupational health work in conformity with the 
Law of the People’s Republic of China on the Prevention and Control of Occupational Diseases, as well as the Regulations on Occupational Health of 
Sinopec Corporation. Their plans are to implement a mobile training platform identical to Labor One. Sinopec Corporation has a sound safety management 
system but they would like to add this new element to their outreach training programs, emergency responses and drills.

Department Hosts Outreach Event with a Chinese Delegation
From Staff Reports

Chen Su, Guosheng Su, safety training specialist Robert O’Neal, Tao Jiang and Ning Wang stand 
near Labor One following an informative tour of the 35-foot mobile training unit.

NCDOL Photo Library

“Fall Prevention Stand-Down Week” May 8-12, 2017
PLAN AHEAD
PROVIDE FALL PROTECTION
TRAIN WORKERS



2017 Safety Award Banquet Schedule
The following safety award banquets are scheduled for April, May and June. For more information about the Safety Awards Program, 
contact Eursula Joyner at 919-807-2908 or eursula.joyner@labor.nc.gov.

Thursday, April 6, 2017  6 p.m.  Old Country Club Steakhouse  Roxboro 

Thursday, April 13  6 p.m.  LeGrand Center  Shelby 

Tuesday, April 18  11:30 a.m.  Grandover Resort  Greensboro 

Thursday, April 20  6 p.m.  Rock Springs Events Center  Greenville 

Tuesday, April 25  noon  Willow Springs Country Club  Wilson 

Thursday, April 27  noon  AVS Banquet Center  Asheboro 

Friday, April 28  noon  Embassy Suites  Charlotte 

Tuesday, May 2  6 p.m.  Expo Center  Clinton 

Thursday, May 4  6:30 p.m.  Ahoskie Inn  Ahoskie 

Tuesday, May 9 11:30 a.m.  Benvenue Country Club   Rocky Mount 

Wednesday, May 10 noon  Lane Tree Country Club  Goldsboro 

Thursday, May 11  noon  South Piedmont Community College  Monroe 

Friday, May 12  noon  Cabarrus County Country Club  Concord 

Monday, May 15  6 p.m.  Oliver’s  Wadesboro 

Tuesday, May 16  6 p.m.  First United Methodist Church  Morganton 

Wednesday, May 17 noon  Ramada Inn (Formerly Holiday Inn)  Statesville 

Thursday, May 25  noon  Mebane Arts and Community Center  Mebane 

Thursday, June 1  6 p.m.  Vance-Granville Community College  Oxford 

Friday, June 2  noon  Crabtree Marriott  Raleigh 

Tuesday, June 6 6 p.m.  Adelio’s Restaurant Downtown  Lumberton 

Thursday, June 8  noon  City of Sanford Public Works Service Center  Sanford 

Monday, June 12  6 p.m.  Wilmington Community College North Campus  Wilmington 

Tuesday, June 13  noon  Olivia’s Catering  Kinston 

Thursday, June 15 6 p.m.  Gastonia Country Club Gastonia 

Friday, June 16  noon  J. Smith YMCA  Lexington 

Monday, June 19  noon  Carolinas HealthCare System Stanly  Albemarle 

Tuesday, June 20 6 p.m.  Double Tree  Asheville 

Thursday, June 22 6 p.m.  Crown Plaza  Hickory 

Friday, June 23 11:30 a.m.  Cross Creek Country Club  Mount Airy 
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By Jason Tyson, Public Information Offi cer

The N.C. Department of Labor certifi ed Cataler North America’s Lincolnton facility as a Rising Star 
Program participant last summer. The company was also recognized as achieving 1 million man hours 
without a lost-time workplace accident.

Labor Commissioner Cherie Berry presented company offi cials with a certifi cate and Carolina Star 
fl ag at a ceremony held at the company’s Lincolnton location.

“I am proud of what Cataler North America has achieved in part due to the good safety and health 
programs they have at this location,” Commissioner Berry said. 

Following the ceremony, Commissioner Berry joined company offi cials in touring the facility. 
The Rising Star designation is the fi rst step many companies take to earning the Carolina Star, which 

is the most prestigious safety recognition given by the N.C. Department of Labor. 
“This is an achievement for Cataler and a milestone for our developing safety culture as we continue 

to improve our overall safety condition,” said Greg Brandt, production general manager and safety offi ce 
of Cataler.  

Companies that qualify for the award have good safety and health programs in the workplace but 
must take additional steps to reach Carolina Star quality. The Star Program recognizes excellence in site-
specifi c occupational safety and health management systems. Star Program participants have effective 
safety and health management systems that serve as models for other businesses. There are currently 149 
sites in the Carolina Star Program throughout North Carolina including seven Rising Stars.

NCDOL Recognizes Cataler North America

Commissioner Berry presents the Rising Star 
Award to Cataler North America.

Youth Employment Certifi cates, also known as work permits, can be obtained  on the N.C. Department of Labor’s website at 
www.nclabor.com. 

The certifi cates are required for youth under the age of 18 who are seeking employment this summer. The Youth Employment 
Certifi cates can only be fi lled out and submitted when a fi rm job offer is in hand. 

Completed and signed certifi cates must be given to the employer on or before the fi rst day of work. The employer must verify the 
youth’s age, proposed job duties and any restrictions noted on the certifi cate.

The certifi cate must be maintained by the employer as long as the youth is employed and for two years after employment ends.If you 
have questions about this form or youth employment restrictions, please contact the Wage and Hour Bureau at 919-807-2796 (Raleigh) 
or toll-free (NC only) 1-800-NC-LABOR (1-800-625-2267). Our Call-Center is open from 8 a.m. to 4:45 p.m., Monday through Friday.

To access the application, visit: www.nclabor.com/wh/youth_instructions.htm. Computer access may be available at the potential 
employer, schools or public libraries if you do not have access at home.

Youth Employment Certifi cates Available Online

The U.S. Department of Homeland Security has upcoming dates for its free E-Verify webinars for businesses. During each session, 
attendees will learn about E-Verify, the free and easy-to-use service that lets employers verify the employment eligibility of new employees. 
Sessions usually last one hour.

As of July 1, 2013, employers with 25 or more employees in North Carolina were required to use E-Verify to check work authorization 
for all new hires. The U.S. Department of Homeland Security, in conjunction with the N.C. Department of Labor, set up webinar dates 
specifi cally for North Carolina employers to inform them about E-Verify.

Upcoming Webinar Dates:

 Wednesday, April 26, at 2 p.m. 

 Wednesday, May 24, at 2 p.m. 

To learn more about the webinars, visit www.nclabor.com/legal/e_verify/webinars.htm.

Upcoming Sessions of Free E-Verify Webinars
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By Christine Ryan, Administrator
Wage and Hour Bureau

Q: I just started a new job, and my employer does not pay extra for weekend or holiday time like my last employer. Is 
that legal?

A: “Unless your employer has promised to pay you a different rate for working on holidays or weekends, your 
employer only has to pay you for the total hours you actually worked in the workweek regardless of what day or days you worked. Your 
employer has to pay you the greater of the minimum wage ($7.25 per hour) or your promised rate of pay for all of the hours you work.  In 
addition, your employer must pay you time and one-half overtime pay based on your regular rate of pay for all hours worked in excess 
of 40 in a workweek, unless you are exempt from overtime for a specifi c reason.”
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By Judyth Niconienko
State Plan Coordinator

 Fatal Event: On Dec. 19, 2014, a 33-year old 
farm worker was struck and killed by the body of 
a falling dump truck while manually attempting to 
activate the mechanical linkage between the dump 

body hydraulic control lever and the dump truck body cylinder 
valve. The dump truck body fell and the employee was caught 
between the chassis and dump body.

Investigative Findings: Farm employees were engaged in the 
process of unloading soybeans from a dump truck into a storage 
silo using a screw conveyor (auger) system.

At the time of the fatal event an employee was standing inside the 
dump body of the truck shoveling soybeans toward the back of the 
dump body where the beans poured through a small opening and 
onto the conveyor chute. The dump body was elevated between 
halfway and three quarters of its full lift capacity and was loaded 
with about 13,500 pounds of soybeans. According to the vehicle 
data plate, the gross vehicle weight rating for this vehicle was being 
exceeded by about 6,300 pounds at the time of the incident. The 
dump truck is used 4 to 5 times each season to transport soybeans 
from the fi elds to the silo. The size of the loads were pretty 
consistent. 

It was reported that the 38-year-old dump truck was not working 
properly. The cable running between the dump body hydraulic 
control lever and the dump body cylinder was sticking, and could 
not fully raise the dump body by using the control knob inside the 
cab as it was designed to do. Problems with the cable sticking were 
reported to be a common occurrence. When the truck worked as 
designed it required only one operator to sit in the cab and raise or 
lower the dump body using the knob. When the dump body could 
not be fully raised in this manner, employees were instructed to 
manually activate the mechanical linkage between the dump body 
hydraulic control lever and the dump body cylinder valve.  This 
mechanical linkage was located on the passenger side, underneath 
the chassis between the frame members and could be activated 

if pulled by hand. In order to manually activate the linkage, the 
employee would have to either reach over the passenger side frame 
member—placing his body between the raised dump body and the 
chassis—or slide on the ground under the passenger side frame 
member. There were no body props being used to prevent the dump 
body from falling inadvertently. In fact there were no approved body 
props on the premises. When servicing of the vehicle occurred, a 
pipe or a piece of wood was used to prop up the raised bed.

A twenty-plus year employee stated he slid under the dump 
truck to manually activate the hydraulic systems numerous times 
during the previous seasons and that employees were instructed to 
slide under the truck rather than reach in between the chassis and 
the dump body. The victim, in this case, decided to reach over the 
truck chassis and the partially-elevated dump body came down and 
crushed him before he could escape.  

Discussion: The truck was inspected after the incident by a 
local mechanic and it was determined that there was a kink in the 
cable that ran from the dump body hydraulic control lever and the 
dump body cylinder, which was the likely cause for the sticking. 
Instead of addressing the malfunctioning cable the staff had been 
instructed to manually raise the dump body. Asking staff to make 
manual adjustments to what should have been a remote operation 
created a potentially hazardous situation which turned deadly in 
this case. Continuously overloading the dump truck above the 
gross vehicle weight rating, the age of the vehicle and the lack of 
regular maintenance may have attributed to its poor condition. It is 
clear that activating the hydraulics or making any other adjustments 
under an unpropped, raised dump body is hazardous. Manufacturer 
approved body props were not available or used to safely secure the 
raised dump body. 

Recommendations: 

Equipment should not be used when it does not function as 
  designed and hazardous work-aro unds should not be allowed.

Provide training and supervision to ensure that workers strictly
  follow the safe operating procedures recommended by the 
  manufacturer.

Always block dump bodies using manufacturer approved body
  props prior to performing inspections, maintenance, repairs or 
  adjustments.

Workplace Worries
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Mine and Quarry Training
Part 46 New Miner Training

April 11, Castle Hayne
April 25, Greensboro
May 2, Greensboro

Part 46 Annual Refresher Training
April 13, Castle Hayne

Aril 27, Greensboro
May 4, Greensboro

New Miner Training
April 3-5, Wake Forest

May 22-24, Wake Forest
Annual Refresher Training

April 6, Wake Forest
May 25, Wake Forest
First Aid Training
April 12, Castle Hayne
April 26, Greensboro
May 3, Greensboro

To register for any of these classes, 
call the Mine and Quarry Bureau at 919-807-2790.

10-Hour Construction Industry 
Awareness Course in Spanish

April 5-6, Jacksonville
Click here for more information.

May 23-24, Charlotte
Click here for more information.

This course will be delivered in Spanish and will provide participants 
10 hours of instruction that will address the many recognized hazards of 
the construction industry. During this awareness course, the “Big Four” 
hazards (falls, electrical, struck by and caught in between) will be included 
as part of the two-day training session.

This course is designed to help employers understand OSH regulatory 
requirements and also ensure employers and employees understand the 
requirements necessary in providing an acceptable safety and health 
program for the workplace. This course will provide a basic overview of 
the Construction Industry Safety and Health Standards, 29 CFR 1926.

Complying With OSHA 
General Industry 

Standards—Beginners Level
May 23-24, Raleigh

Click here for more information.

This two-day course has been designed for new environmental, health and 
safety (EHS) professionals who are responsible for safety and health at their 
organization. The course covers general industry standards, state-specifi c 
standards for the general industry and the recordkeeping standards.

Complying With OSHA 
Construction Industry 

Standards—Beginners Level
July 12-13, Raleigh

Click here for more information.

This two-day course has been designed for new environmental, health and 
safety (EHS) professionals who are responsible for safety and health at their 
organization. The course covers construction industry standards, state-specifi c 
standards for the construction industry and the recordkeeping standards.

OSH Webinar Courses
Visit the OSH Training Schedule Calendar here www.labor.
communications.its.state.nc.us/OSHPublic/ETTA/class_regist/
calendar.cfm to view upcoming internet training and other safety 
courses. Check the calendar for new courses being added soon.

Wilmington Regional
Safety and Health School

July 27-28, Carolina Beach
Click here for more information.

Eastern Carolina Safety School
June 8-9, New Bern

Click here for more information.

www.nclabor.com
https://www.labor.communications.its.state.nc.us/OSHPublic/ETTA/class_regist/calendar.cfm?page=eventDetails&eventid=4613
https://www.labor.communications.its.state.nc.us/OSHPublic/ETTA/class_regist/calendar.cfm?page=eventDetails&eventid=4752
https://www.labor.communications.its.state.nc.us/OSHPublic/ETTA/class_regist/calendar.cfm?page=eventDetails&eventid=4191
https://www.labor.communications.its.state.nc.us/OSHPublic/ETTA/class_regist/calendar.cfm?page=eventDetails&eventid=4571
http://www.wilmingtonsafetyschool.com/
http://www.ecshs.com/
www.labor.communications.its.state.nc.us/OSHPublic/ETTA/class_regist/calendar.cfm
www.labor.communications.its.state.nc.us/OSHPublic/ETTA/class_regist/calendar.cfm
www.labor.communications.its.state.nc.us/OSHPublic/ETTA/class_regist/calendar.cfm
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